Reading Rulebooks

S2E7: Reading Rulebooks – Cthulhu: Death May Die

Reading Rulebooks is a podcast dedicated to reading through rulebooks and teaching games! In this podcast I directly read the rulebook as well as discuss the game and try to clear up potential areas of confusion.

Check out the Game section of MCG for more episodes of the Reading Rulebooks Podcast or check out the MCG YouTube Channel for Videos!

This week we are going to cover the rules for Cthulhu: Death May Die. Cthulhu: Death May Die is a game designed by Rob Daviau and Eric Lang and is illustrated by Nicolas Fructus, Karl Kopinski, Thierry Masson, Edgar Skomoroski, etc. The game is published by CMON games.

Expansions include Season 2 Expansion (2019), Yog-Sothoth (2019), Unspeakable Box (2019), Scarlett Hayes (2019), Black Goat of the Woods (2019), R’lyeh Rising (2019), CMON Comics: Vol. 1 Promos (2021), R’lyehian Seizures Promo (2022), Iron Maiden Pack #1 (2023), Iron Maiden Pack #2 (2023), Iron Maiden Pack #3 (2023), Season 4 Expansion (2023), Fear of the Unknown: Ithaqua the Win-Walker (2023), Fear of the Unknown: Animal Allies (2023), Fear of the Unknown: Unknowable Box (2023), CMON Comics: Vol. 2 Promos (2023).

It looks like a lot but there are 16 expansions (which is less than some of the other ones I written out in the past).

Check out the Character Guide here:


00:00 Introduction & Components

01:59   Overview

11:06 Setup

13:18 Dice and Checks

17:11 Turn Sequence

33:11 Death of an Investigator

34:04 Disrupting the Ritual

34:30 Fighting the Elder One

36:47 Ending the Game

37:40 Rules Summary

40:39 MCG Thoughts

Leave a Reply